Skip to content
Home » Health & Fitness » Yoga » Yoga Branches – A Practice of Mind and Body

Yoga Branches – A Practice of Mind and Body

Yoga Branches yoga pranayama

Yoga is a mind and body practice with historical origins in ancient Indian philosophy. Various branches of yoga combine physical postures, breathing techniques, and meditation or relaxation.

The practice of yoga makes the body strong and flexible, it also improves the functioning of the respiratory, circulatory, digestive, and hormonal systems. Yoga brings about emotional stability and clarity of mind.

Branches of Yoga

Yoga, in ancient times, was often referred to in terms of a tree with roots, trunk, branches, blossoms, and fruits. Each branch of yoga has unique characteristics and represents a specific approach to life. The six branches are:

Hatha yoga

Physical and mental branch – involves asana and pranayama practice – preparing the body and mind

Raja yoga

Meditation and strict adherence to the “eight limbs of yoga”

Karma yoga

Path of service to consciously create a future free from negativity and selfishness caused by our actions

Bhakti yoga

Path of devotion – a positive way to channel emotions and cultivate acceptance and tolerance

Jnana yoga

Wisdom, the path of the scholar and intellect through study

Tantra yoga

pathway of ritual, ceremony or consummation of a relationship.

The ‘eight limbs of yoga’

Raja yoga is traditionally referred to as ashtanga yoga because there are eight aspects to the path to which one must attend. The eight limbs of ashtanga yoga are:


Ethical standards and a sense of integrity. The five Yamas are: ahimsa (nonviolence), Satya (truthfulness), Asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya (continence) and aparigraha (non-covetousness)


Self-discipline and spiritual observances, meditation practices, contemplative walks. The five Niyamas (Rules) are: Saucha (cleanliness), Samtosa (contentment), tapas (heat, spiritual austerities), Svadhyaya (study of sacred scriptures and of one’s self) and Isvara Pranidhana (surrender to God)
Asana – integration of mind and body through physical activity


regulation of breath leading to integration of mind and body
Pratyahara – withdrawal of the senses of perception, the external world, and outside stimuli


Concentration, one-pointedness of mind


Meditation or contemplation – an uninterrupted flow of concentration


The quiet state of blissful awareness.

Read Also
Yoga for Beginners
How many times per week should I practice yoga?


The information provided on the site is being provided for educational purposes only. The information is not a substitute for any medical advice.