Home » Career » Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University

Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University

Pierre and Marie Curie University, also known as University of Paris VI, is a public research university and was established in 1971 following the division of the University of Paris and is a principal heir to Faculty of Sciences of the Sorbonne (French: Faculté des sciences de Paris), although it can trace its roots back to 1109 and the Abbey of St Victor.

The university is located on the Jussieu Campus in the Latin Quarter of the 5th arrondissement of Paris, France. The French cultural revolution of 1968, commonly known as “The French May”, resulted in the division of the world’s second oldest academic institution, the University of Paris, into thirteen autonomous universities.